Proud fans of a 128-year old tradition

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:06 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: MLB Faces Antitrust Suit Regarding Its TV Blackout Policies
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:44 pm 

Love it. Anything that makes Bozo Selig look bad.

http://sports-law.blogspot.com/2012/05/done-mlb-faces-antitrust-suit-regarding.html

Post subject: Re: MLB Faces Antitrust Suit Regarding Its TV Blackout Polic
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 4:32 pm 

I am firmly in the plaintiffs' corner on this one, for two reasons: (1) even though I have a cable subscription and do not have MLB TV, I think the blackout policies are absolutely ridiculous and a total money-grab; and (2) I am looking forward to baseball's antitrust exemption getting thrown in the can sooner rather than later. The latter could pave the way for later potential suits regarding the relocation of ball clubs and the quasi hard-slotting system for amateur players in the amateur draft, the results of which could create boons for small market clubs like the Pirates.

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:44 pm 

Interesting.

I know quite a few people who have complained about this very topic.

As unlikely as it is, here's hoping this leads to much needed change within the MLB.

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 10:12 pm 

MLB is run by idiots. My father would buy the package to see Pirate games. However, despite the fact that he is close to 200 miles fro Pittsburgh, he would be subjected to the blackout policy. So in essence, they get nothing, rather than the subscription fee for the package. This has to effect any fan over 50-60 miles away. He also cannot get ROOT Pitt so is left out entirely..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 11:10 am 

Hmmmm. Will be interesting to see how this plays out.